Welcome to our Frequently Asked Questions. Here are answers to some common questions we are often asked.
If you have more questions and want to speak with a representative that can further help you,
please call (410) 314-9548.
The #1 Question: How do I become a registered patient?
What you should bring with you:
- Medicinal record(s) that show you have condition for treatment. We need only verify your records.
- A government issued ID card. (ex. Drivers License)
It is a simple process. We put it all together for you.
- The consultation includes MMCC (Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission) registration. We assist you filling out your registration.
- You see the Doctor. The doctor will verify condition.
- Once you recieve your 16 Patient ID from the MMCC, we upload the approval and you will be certified for one year.
We are here to work with you and to help you through this process. Call or Text us, we are ready to assist you.
Where can I obtain medical cannabis?
A Maryland patient can only obtain legal medical cannabis from Maryland-licensed dispensaries.
I’m a medical cannabis patient, can I grow my own cannabis.
No. In Maryland, a Medical Cannabis patient can only obtain legal medical cannabis from Maryland licensed dispensaries. There are dispensaries located throughout the state.
How do I set up an appointment with a registered Medical Cannabis Physician in Maryland?
Give us a call/text at (410) 314-9548 or request an appointment from our appointments page and one of our experienced and friendly staff members will coordinate a date and time for you to get evaluated by a Registered Medical Cannabis Provider in Maryland.
What credentials do the physicians/medical providers of Urbn Holistic have?
All medical providers working with Urbn Holistic are licensed and authorized to practice medicine in their respective states and are in full compliance with those state’s medical cannabis laws. They all possess an extensive, working knowledge of medical cannabis benefits.
What will I need for my appointment?
You will need a government Photo ID with proof of current address and medical records (prescription bottles, doctor’s diagnosis, MRI, X-ray, etc) that say something about the condition for which you are trying to enter the program.
How much will my Maryland Medical Cannabis Certification cost?
The cost for the Maryland Medical Marijuana Certification is $200. That price includes assistance with registration, Medical Cannabis education, the medical evaluation, and any other help throughout the process. Veterans, First Responders, Seniors receive a discounted certification at $170. Each year thereafter, there is a $150 renewal fee for re-certification.
What are the qualifying conditions that allow me to receive my Medical Cannabis Certification?
Any condition that is severe, for which other medical treatments have been ineffective, could qualify for medical cannabis. PTSD, Depression, Cancer, Autism, Headaches, Back Pain/Chronic Pain, Chronic Anxiety, Glaucoma, Seizures, Severe Nausea, Muscle Spasms, Anorexia, Cachexia, and Wasting Syndrome are just a few of the qualifying conditions/symptoms. Give us a call to see if you qualify.
What is a caregiver?
Caregivers provide a service for any patient (even those under 18) who cannot or does not want to go to a dispensary to purchase their medical cannabis. A caregiver gets the medical cannabis for their patient and then transports it back to them. Caregivers are only appointed by patients, must be 21 years or older, and can be a family member.
How do I register as a patient or caregiver?
The Maryland Medical Cannabis Online Registry open and you can register at http://mmcc.maryland.gov/Pages/home.aspx. Or, you can come into our office for any help with this process. We will help you register at the time of your appointment.
My child needs medical cannabis. Can he or she get it legally?
YES! Children (under 18) can also become legal patients, however, the child must have a parent or guardian serve as his/her caregiver.
Can veterans obtain medical cannabis in Maryland also?
YES! Veterans are eligible for the program. We have helped lots of veterans obtain their certification and lead a better quality of life. We are proud to help our veterans and offer them a discount. Certification for veterans is only $170.
Will my insurance company cover the certification process, consultation or Medical marijuana application?
No. Insurance companies do not cover the cost of a written certification in Maryland.
What will take place during a visit with Urbn Holistic?
A registered Maryland medical provider will examine you, review medical records, assess your medical history, maintain your patient records and provide follow-up care as needed.
Where can I get medical cannabis once I am certified for Medical Cannabis in Maryland?
In Maryland, a Medical Cannabis patient can only obtain legal medical cannabis from Maryland licensed dispensaries. There are dispensaries located throughout the state.
How much medical cannabis can a qualifying patient possess at one time?
A patient may possess up to 120 grams (approximately four ounces) of marijuana in a 30-day period.
Is there a maximum amount of marijuana extract that a patient can have?
Yes, a patient may only have up to 36 grams of marijuana extract per 30-day supply.
Are there edibles available in Maryland?
Yes and No, only flower and extracts (oils, tinctures, topicals, etc.) are completely allowed. The Maryland Cannabis Commission introduced tablets and tonics as “edibles.” Edibles that are in the form of gummy bears for example are not allowed since they could be confused with non infused candy.
What happens if I am stopped by law enforcement?
As a legal cannabis patient, you are afforded certain protections. Patients do not have to disclose that they possess medical cannabis and do not have to consent to a search. However, if a search is conducted and medical cannabis is found, the patient should present their patient ID certificate or card. Patients can also direct law enforcement to the Maryland Cannabis Commission database to show that they are a legal patient.
Will Maryland dispensaries recognize other state medical cannabis ID cards?
You must be certified in Maryland by a Maryland approved medical provider to legally purchase medical cannabis in the state. Maryland does not accept another state’s cannabis program.